Alabama's Will Anderson brings home his second-straight Nagurski Trophy

For the second straight season, Alabama outside linebacker Will Anderson Jr. has brought home the Nagurski Trophy as the nation’s top defensive player.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy has been presented annually since 1993 to the top defensive player in college football as voted on by the members of the FWAA.

The award is named after Bronko Nagurski, who played football for the University of Minnesota.

Anderson defeated Calijah Kancey (Pittsburgh), Chris Smith (Georgia), and Tuli Tuipulotu (USC) by winning the award.

 Anderson and Jonathan Allen are the only two Alabama players to win the award in program history.

Anderson is just the second player in the history of the Nagurski Trophy to be awarded in consecutive seasons joining Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald who won it in 1995 and 1996.

Anderson wracked up 51 tackles, 17 tackles for loss, and 10 sacks in his junior season for the Tide.