Does white rice have wheat?

All forms of rice are gluten-free in their pure form. This includes brown rice, white rice, and wild rice. Rice mixes, “wheat-free” rice,

and rice from certain manufacturers that produce gluten products may contain gluten.

Why it matters Living without gluten requires you to be mindful of all the foods you eat. 

You must read labels to determine whether foods contain gluten or not.

Rice is generally gluten-free, unless it’s mixed or processed with other products that contain gluten or is contaminated on equipment that processes gluten products.

You may live a gluten-free lifestyle because you have celiac disease, a wheat allergy, or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

The Mayo Clinic states that 1 in 141 people in the United States have celiac disease. 

Approximately 1 to 6 percent of the population has non-celiac gluten sensitivity. 

Another condition, eosinophilic esophagitis or EoE, is a food allergy immune disease that is triggered by a wheat allergy in some people.

Any of these conditions require you to avoid consuming products containing gluten.


The 21 Best Low-Carb Vegetables


12 Simple Tips to Help Eliminate Gluten from Your Diet