Notre Dame's 13 winningest football coaches of all-time

There has been a change at the top after nearly a century as Brian Kelly has passed Knute Rockne for the most wins by a head coach in the long history of Notre Dame football.

Some think it’s absurd, others realize that playing three or four more games a year really helps the total add up.

Some are even bright enough to realize that you don’t get to that many career victories without being a really good coach, but that’s not the point of this piece.

This is to give you the information you’re looking for:

Who are Notre Dame’s winningest coaches of all time and just how many (or few) really good or great ones have there actually been?

Check it out below as we give you the top-13 all-time:

13. Tyrone Willingham Tyrone Willingham 21 wins 2002-2004

12. Gerry Faust Gerry Faust 1981-1985 30 wins

11. Terry Brennan Terry Brennan 1954-1958 32 wins

10. Jesse Harper Jesse Harper 1913-1917 34 wins

T-8. Charlie Weis Charlie Weis 2005-2009 35 wins

T-8. Bob Davie Bob Davie 1997-2001 35 wins

7. Elmer Layden Elmer Layden 1934-1940 47 wins

6. Dan Devine Dan Devine 1975-1980 53 wins

5. Frank Leahy Frank Leahy 1941-1953 87 wins

4. Ara Parseghian Ara Parseghian 1964-1974 95 wins

3. Lou Holtz Lou Holtz 1986-1996 100 wins

2. Knute Rockne Knute Rockne 1918-1930 105 wins

1. Brian Kelly Brian Kelly 2010-2021 113 wins

NEXT story

The top 25 2023 recruiting classes in college football so far