Which types of rice are gluten-free?

Gluten-free rice 1. brown rice 2. white rice 3. wild rice

Rice in its pure form is gluten-free. This whole grain is available in many varieties, all of which differ in nutritional content and health benefits.

You may need to use a specific type of rice to follow a recipe. Some types of rice are better used for certain purposes.

If you are picking a rice without a recipe in mind, choose unrefined (brown) rice to increase your meal’s nutritional content.

Here’s some nutritional information about three popular types of gluten-free rice.

Brown rice : Brown rice is packed with nutrition. It contains manganese, selenium, and fiber. Brown rice has more texture because it’s unrefined and still contains the bran and germ. 

Brown rice : These are both removed when processing white rice. Make sure to store uncooked brown rice in an air-tight container or in the refrigerator to keep it fresh.

White rice : White rice is an extremely popular type of rice, but it has been stripped of much of its nutritional value. 

White rice : Fiber and other vitamins and minerals are removed from white rice to create a smoother texture and prolong shelf life.

Wild rice : Technically, wild rice isn’t a rice, even though it’s marketed as one. 

Wild rice : It’s actually a grass and is gluten-free. Wild rice is more difficult to grow than rice, so it may be more expensive or mixed with brown or white rice to lower the cost. 

Wild rice : Wild rice has many vitamins and minerals, such as fiber, folate, and vitamin B-6. It’s also considered to be high in antioxidants.


12 Simple Tips to Help Eliminate Gluten from Your Diet